The Community Foundation, in partnership with the North Central Florida Estate Planning Council, established the Legacy Awards to recognize the crucial interaction between donor, professional advisor, charity, and local corporations necessary in creating an effective and meaningful charitable gift. This year’s recipients are:

Donor Honoree: Dr. Howard and Laurel Freeman and Carolyne Freeman (STOP! Children’s Cancer)

The Donor Recognition Award is awarded to an individual, couple or family who has made a significant impact through their planned gift to a charity. This Legacy Award for Donors recognizes and honors an individual or family for their commitment to a deferred or planned gift made in support of one or more non-profit organizations or charitable causes. Special consideration is given to donors who have provided leadership and or encouragement to others, and to donors who have structured unique and innovative planned gifts that enrich the lives of people in our community. This award may be made to honor either living or deceased donors.

Professional Advisor Honoree: WJ Rossi, CFP, ChFC, from Koss Olinger. The Professional Advisor Award recognizes service, expertise, and outstanding work by a Professional Advisor in helping his or her client complete a satisfying and transformative charitable gift.

Nonprofit Professional Honoree: Dr. Maggie Labarta

The Nonprofit Professional Award recognizes a nonprofit professional who clearly shown their commitment to encouraging philanthropy in the community not only through advocacy and awareness efforts but also through leadership. This individual has made a large impact in bettering the community around them during their time in the nonprofit field.

Young Philanthropist Honoree: Sayers Grooms (Watch Me Run)

The Young Philanthropist Award recognizes a young individual in our community who has made a significant impact through their nonprofit work. The honoree, while being young, has made direct contributes to the world around him or her.

Previous Non-Profit Recognition Award Recipients